Only site and global administrators can create, edit, and delete users. Editors, Reviewers, Authors, and Researchers can edit their own user information but cannot change the information of other users.

Administrators manage and create users from the User tab of the main administrative dashboard (head and shoulders icon).

This Users section displays the user’s email followed by full name in parentheses, as well as their role and the date the account was created.

There are six user roles in Omeka S:

  • Global Admin: full installation privileges
  • Site Administrator: robust site and content privileges
  • Editor (Content Expert): full privileges for content creation
  • Reviewer: robust content privileges but can only delete own content.
  • Author: Create own content.
  • Researcher: Search and read privileges only.

Create a New User

To create a new user, select the Add new user button in the upper right hand corner of the Users section in the main administrative dashboard.

On the Add User page, enter the following:

  • Name (full name or credit name)
  • Email address
  • Select a Role using the dropdown menu (see above for user role privileges)
  • Check the Is Active box to confirm that the user is active.

Add new user form with fields as described

Managing Users

To manage an existing user, go to the Users section.

Manage users view, top row is the Omeka Devs account. The drawer showing the number of items and item sets created by the Omeka Devs user is opened.

To view the name, email, and role of a user, click on the username.

To see the items and item sets owned by a user, click the more (ellipses) button located between the delete (trash can) button and the user role label. This will open a drawer on the right side of the screen with this information; you can click on the number of items or item sets to go to the items or item sets created by that user.

Edit User

To edit a user’s information, change their password, or access API keys, click the edit icon (pencil) to the left of their role.

The Edit User page has four tabs: User Information, User Settings, Password, and API Keys. After making changes on any of these tabs, be sure to click the save button in the upper right hand corner of the browser window.

User information

On this tab, you can edit the display Name and Email for the user, select or change the user Role and click the checkbox to confirm that the user Is Active (or uncheck the checkbox to render the user inactive)

User information tab for the Omeka Devs user with completed fields for email, display name, role, and an active checkbox for Is Active

User settings

This tab allows a user or global admin to set the following:

  • Locale: select from a dropdown of available languages. This will change the language in which the installation's admin site displays for that user.
  • Default resource template: select from existing templates to have a template auto-load whenever the user creates a new item.

User settings for Omeka Dev with default options selected

Password

On this tab, create a new password. It must be entered twice, in both the new password and confirm new password fields to take.

Empty password reset fields for the user Omeka Devs

API Key

Use this tab to generate an API key for the user. You must provide a label for the key - this could be a date or the purpose of the key. Click save to generate the key.

To remove existing API keys, check the Delete? box on the row for that key and click save.

API tab for user Omeka Devs with one generated but hidden api key, and below it the ability to create a new key

Delete a User

On the User page of the administrative dashboard, click the trash can icon in the user’s row, to the left of their role information, to delete the user. Confirm the deletion in the dialog box which will appear on the right of the screen.

Delete confirmation for user Megan2, giving the number of items and item sets that user has created - in this case, zero for both.

Roles and Permissions

The following is a detailed breakdown of permissions for each user role:

Global Admin

  • Full privileges (create, edit, delete) of item, item sets, media, resource templates, site pages, sites, and users.
  • Full privileges for modules - install, activate, configure.
  • Search, read, create, and delete privileges for Vocabularies

Site Administrator

  • Full privileges (create, edit, delete) of item, item sets, media, resource templates, site pages, sites, and users.
  • Browse-only privileges for modules in the module tab. Site administrators can interact with active modules where appropriate.
  • Search, read, and create privileges for Vocabularies (cannot delete)

Editor

  • Full privileges (create, edit, delete) of item, item sets, media, resource templates, and site pages
  • Can search, read, and create sites and users, and edit or delete sites they own. Can only delete their own user profile.
  • Search and read only privileges for vocabularies.
  • No privileges for modules

Reviewer

  • Can search, read, create, and edit all items, item sets, media, sites and site pages. Can only delete those items, item sets, media, sites and site pages which the user owns.
  • Search and read only privileges for vocabularies and resource templates.
  • No privileges for modules

Author

  • Can search, read, and create items, item sets, media, and site pages. Can only edit or delete content which the user has created.
  • Search and read only privileges for vocabularies and sites.
  • No privileges for modules

Researcher

  • Search and read-only privileges for all content, sites, and users.
  • No privileges for modules