ImageMagick/BookReader Plugin

Hello

I have looked for an answer to my question but have yet to find one. Perhaps the Omeka community can help.

I am new to Omeka, so I am wondering if there is an alternative to ImageMagick? My host (fasthosts) does not have it installed on their end, thus I cannot use it.

On the back of that question, the plugin BookReader (found here: https://github.com/jsicot/BookReader) is exactly what I am looking for for my site. However, does it require ImageMagick in order to work? If so, bugger. If not, then I cannot seem to figure out how to get it to actually work.

Thanks for stopping by and potentially helping with my questions.

On the ImageMagick question, we use it to create image derivatives for the files you upload. There's not really an alternative, but Omeka will mostly work without it -- you just won't have the thumbnails for files.

I don't think that BookReader requires ImageMagick, though it's not a CHNM plugin, so I'm not that familiar with it.

Thanks for your reply. That's helpful.

If anyone is familiar with bookreader, I could use some help in actually getting it to work! I have installed it, but I must be putting the settings in incorrectly, because nothing seems to come of the plugin. I'm sure it is something simple, like putting the files to be viewed in the correct folder, but any help would be appreciated!

On further inspection, it does not seem so simple. Something about creating a spreadsheet, inserting links to each individual image of a pdf file?

I think I will probably leave it for now.

I'm having a similar problem - I have IA BookReader working in our old version of Omeka, but I can't get it to work in Omeka 2.0. I installed the plugin, but it isn't showing up at all on the item pages. Anyone had luck installing and using this?