Custom layouts for Exhibit Builder 3.0

There is documentation about adding layouts to EB 3.0 for plug-in creators, but not for theme creators. Is this at all possible? Is a custom plug-in required to register the layout with Exhibit Builder?

I am looking to be able to, for example, display the item title above an exhibit attachment. Or, to let my users select a layout which puts the caption next to the thumbnail in a gallery instead of below it, rather than doing it through conditional stylesheets (or hard coding it in a text block).

If you want to create a new layout, it has to be from a plugin. Public theme files aren't loadable in the admin side in the way that they'd need to be to get stuff like the forms to work.

Themes can override the display of any layout, however, including those added by plugins.

In that case, are there any very-extremely-basic tutorials for creating 2.x plugins? I've seen the Read the Docs documentation, but it's not so useful for total newbies.

Hmm, the "Plugin Basics" section there does seem to be pretty lacking in the, well... basics.

For a situation like this, you'd be looking at a very simple plugin.

Your file structure would look like:

• AwesomeLayout/
    • AwesomeLayoutPlugin.php
    • plugin.ini
    • views/
      • shared/
        • exhibit_layouts/
          • awesome/

The plugin.ini is pretty self-explanatory, and it's mostly geared for distribution anyway, so something very minimal should be sufficient:

[info]
name = "Awesome Exhibit Layout"
author = "sheepeeh"
version = "1.0"